How I Found Out – Graves

Well, I might as well start at the beginning for my first blog post: how I found out I have Graves’ Disease. 

Back in 2008, I ended up getting really sick. I’m not talking about your typical illness either. I couldn’t eat, and when I did, it either came back out or went right through me. I felt dizzy, I couldn’t stop sweating, and my heart felt like it was constantly going to rip through my chest. Being the person that I am, I endured it for a good two weeks before deciding I couldn’t anymore. 

I went to the walk-in near my place. The doctor immediately called for bloodwork. She told me to do it immediately. So, of course, I did. I think that was the first time I actually got bloodwork done, mostly because I’m afraid of needles. 

Two days later, the walk-in doctor called me and asked me to come in. You know it’s never a good sign when that happens. I headed in immediately, and she told me that my thyroid was extremely hyper. I didn’t even know what a thyroid was, I had to Google it. But I was referred to an endocrinologist, who had a crazy wait list. I think I may have had to wait 8 months? I can’t remember, it’s been so long. 

So that’s how I found out about my thyroid. Haha. My next post will be about the following visits and my fun with testing meds. But I’m going to leave this here for now. 

Leave a Reply

